Overland Park Criminal & DUI Defense

How Much Did That Drink Really Cost? The True Cost of a DUI in Kansas.

How much did that drink really cost? The true cost of a DUI in Kansas.

This is an article reminding people that getting a DUI might be a little heavier hitting to your pocketbook than one might think.

For sake of this article we will assume that we are just talking about a person getting a 1st time DUI in the State of Kansas. All figures listed are estimated based on current range of costs throughout the state at this time.

The True Costs of a DUI in Kansas if convicted:

Fine: $750-$1,000.00

Court Costs: $25.00-$150.00

Fingerprint Fees: $35.00

Attorney's Fees: $1,000.00-$5,000.00

Driver's License Reinstatement Fee: $100.00 - $400.00

Alcohol and Drug Evaluation: $150.00

ADSAP Class: $150.00

Potential Urine Tests for 1 year: $300.00

Alternative Transportation for (1 month minimum and up to 1 year) license suspension:

$1,000.00 - $5,000.00

Lost Wages (from meetings, urine tests, court dates, etc.): $750.00

Increase in Auto Insurance over 3 year period: $5,000.00

Total Estimated Range: $9260.00 - $17,935.00

These figures are staggering to say the least, and needless to say most people don't have an extra $10,000.00 lying around for a rainy day. Please let this serve as a reminder not to drink and drive, the costs of a DUI simply are not worth it. A $20 to $50 dollar cab ride is much cheaper and safer, and the easiest way to not get charged with Driving under the Influence is to not drive!

However if you or a loved one do run into a DUI or other criminal charge contact our office in Overland Park, KS as soon as possible for a free case evaluation about with an attorney.

Categories: