Domestic ViolenceClient-Centered Legal Representation
Overland Park Domestic Violence Attorney
Defense Against Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence is a forceful, violent or threatening act inflicted by one member of a family or household against another member of the same family or household. Because domestic violence cases involve an assault or abusive act against a spouse, romantic partner, family member or other member of the household, emotions tend to run extremely high. Unfortunately, in many instances, people who have become victims of domestic violence, often do not wish to report the violence or file charges against their abuser.
The state of Kansas, unlike some other states, is a "must arrest" state when it comes to domestic violence. The abused is not the deciding factor for arresting and filing charges against the abuser. In Kansas the police are required to arrest any domestic violence suspect providing there is sufficient evidence that a crime has been committed. Once an arrest for domestic violence has been made, Kansas courts operate on a tiered fine and prison sentence scale. This system takes into account not only the number of prior offenses but the severity of the offenses as well.
Some of the domestic violence penalties which can be levied in Kansas are:
- A first offense domestic violence charge is considered to be a misdemeanor and generally comes with a $200-$500 fine and up to six months in jail,
- A second offense is also a misdemeanor, yet comes with a $500-$1000 fine and up to a year in jail,
- A third offense is a mandatory felony charge and carries a $1000-$2500 fine and a prison sentence of more than one year,
- The severity of the crime, whether or not serious injury was caused and other factors could weigh heavily on the penalties imposed.
If you or a loved one are facing domestic violence charges, your best defense is to consult with an Overland Park criminal defense lawyer at our firm. We understand how domestic violence charges can seriously impact your life and livelihood. In cases such as this, we take the time to thoroughly evaluate your case, review the charges against you and advise you of your legal options.
Domestic Violence Lawyer Serving Overland Park
Domestic violence is an extremely serious offense. In the state of Kansas, if law enforcement officials are sent out on a domestic violence call, and there is sufficient evidence pointing to an alleged suspect, they are required under Kansas law to arrest that suspect. If you have been accused or arrested for domestic violence, it is vital you take urgent steps to protect your rights.
When your future is at stake, delays are not an option. Conviction of domestic violence can dramatically impact and alter your life. Attorney Robert C. Gigstad understands that, which is why we work with each client personally and give each criminal defense case the importance it deserves. If problems arise, rest assure d that the attorneys at our firm will respond quickly and work with you closely to pursue a favorable case outcome.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for or are facing charges of domestic violence, contact an Overland Park domestic violence attorney at Gigstad Law Office, LLC today.
- DISMISSED CITY OF GARDNER V. B.W.
- NOT GUILTY CITY OF DESOTO V. R.M.
- NOT GUILITY C.C. V. M.B.
- LICENSE SAVED B.B. V. KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
- DRIVER'S LICENSE NOT SUSPENDED. A.M. V. KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Why We're Different
We are members of the American Bar Association, the National College for DUI Defense®, The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers, the Kansas Bar Association, Kansas Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Kansas Association for Justice, Johnson County Bar Association, Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association, National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. Additionally, we are Avvo rated for our professionalism and skill. With our firm by your side you can count on integrity and commitment to you and your case. We are driven to get results either in negotiations or at trial. If you would like to learn about your rights, call 888-387-2036 now.