Under 21 DUIs In Kansas
All DUI charges are taken very seriously in Kansas, and DUIs involving people under the age of 21 are prosecuted particularly aggressively. Specifically, these under 21 DUIs have a much lower threshold for what is considered "driving under the influence," and can yield more severe consequences than the same crime committed by an adult.
If you've been arrested for DUI, contact Gigstad Law Office, LLC for aggressive defense. We believe that a youthful mistake shouldn't cost you your future, and will tirelessly defend your rights and freedom when you retain our firm. Attorney Robert Gigstad is a top-rated DUI lawyer, and received the Avvo Clients' Choice award for DUI representation in 2014.
Don't hesitate to retain the aggressive defense you need. Call our firm today at (888) 387-2036.
Penalties for an Under 21 DUI
In many cases, under 21 DUIs carry more severe consequences than their adult counterparts. Additionally, a charge for underage DUI could come with a number of related charges, all of which have their own set of penalties. Beyond the legal consequences, your auto insurance may be terminated, or will at least be subject to a rate increase.
The consequences for your first under 21 DUI can include:
- Up to 30 day license suspension
- Up to 1 year in jail
- As much as $1000 in fines
- License restriction for 330 days
The penalties for a second or subsequent DUI arrest are even more severe, and can mean more jail time, higher fines, and a suspended license for up to a year. For this reason, it is crucial to retain a skilled Overland Park DUI attorney as soon as possible after your arrest.
Arrested for DUI? Contact our firm today for skilled representation.
A Lower Legal Limit
Most people are aware of the legal limit for blood alcohol content; if you test at .08% BAC or above, you're considered to be driving under the influence. However, the limit is much lower for those under 21 years of age, just .02%. This means that nearly any amount of alcohol consumed could potentially put you at risk for a DUI. The penalties are more severe if you are over .08%, and additional sentence enhancements can be assessed if your BAC is greater than .15%.
It isn't just illegal to drink and drive as a minor – in most cases, it's illegal to drink or posess alcohol altogether. When minors are arrested for DUI, they are often charged with additional crimes, including:
- Minor in possession
- Distributing alcohol to minors (if other drunk, underage people were in the car)
- Violations of child endangerment laws
- Possession of false identification (fake IDs are illegal!)
Don't Plead Guilty – Call (888) 387-2036 Today.
If you're facing under 21 DUI charges, you need aggressive defense from a skilled Overland Park DUI lawyer. At Gigstad Law Office, LLC, our attorney is dedicated to criminal defense and DUI cases. Attorney Gigstad is well-versed in DUI law, having been certified in DUI detection and standardized field sobriety testing, and has been named as one of the nation's Top 100 Trial Lawyers.
Get the tough, aggressive defense you need against DUI charges! Call our firm today for your free case evaluation.